Training -Week 4ish?

I’m awful at nailing down when I started training for this marathon. All I’m certain of is the date I’m running it, the fact I won’t die (finishing is hopeful), and that I have a training plan.

This weekend I had a long run of 10 miles planned. I also took Friday off because I went to a concert on Friday night and knew there was no way in hell I was going to be able to get to bed around midnight and then drag my sorry ass out of bed the next day. Also, if that would have happened, I wouldn’t have been able to be pleasant (not that I’m overly so already…). Needless to say I slept in and was super excited that I had a 3 day weekend, which meant more flexibility to run!

Figured I could hang out with a few friends, get a race in on top of my long run, and fit my Significant Other (SO from there on out). Well, bless my SO because the weekend was a bit of a wild ride… I got my long run in on Friday evening as I chatted for a while with a friend in the early afternoon which pushed lunch off, and therefore delayed my run until 6p.

Not bad considering I was estimating it would take me about 2 hours to run it, likely a bit longer since it’s a distance builder and not a race tempo that I was going for. Well, I realized at mile 5 that I was missing a few things. Some important things. Key items like my knee brace, water, and fuel… Oh man… It was not pretty…

I’ve done long runs sans water, but it is NOT a preference. Saturday was so humid where I was that my clothing was soaked through by mile 3 of the run. It was cooler, which was nice, but I needed that water. And I only realized I was without that because I got hungry! Not a fun rest of my run and I wish I would have cut it short. But I got home and had to figure out not only how to re-hydrate and eat, but how to do so without throwing up.

It’s not as easy as it sounds… I got a cup of water, grabbed a Gatorade, and found a banana. Was a bit out of sorts but I managed to sip my water, slowly eat my banana, and then grabbed a bowl of plain cereal. The rice crispies with milk ensured I at least had a tiny bit of protein…

Lesson learned though. Next time I will triple check I have everything with me!!

Leave a Reply

